ABRAXAS Abraxas (Greek: ΑΒΡΑΞΑΣ, variant form Abrasax, ΑΒΡΑΣΑΞ) is a word of mystic meaning in the system of the Gnostic Basilides, being there applied to the “Great Archon” (Gk., megas archōn), the princeps of the 365 spheres (Gk., ouranoi).[1] The word is found in Gnostic texts such as the Holy Book of the Great Invisible […]

Continue reading "Abraxas"


Kether In the Qabalah, Kether (כתר) is the first of the ten Sephiroth on the “Tree of Life.” Its meaning is crown. The other Sephiroth are: Chokmah, Binah, Chesed, Geburah, Tiphareth, Netzach, Hod, Yesod, and Malkuth. Qabalistic Attributions Name: Kether (Crown) Chakra: Sahasrara (Above Head) Key Scale: 1 Astrology: Pluto Godforms Tarot Egyptian (practical): Ptah […]

Continue reading "Kether"

Gnostic Mythology

Gnostic Mythology One of the main things which separated the Gnostics from orthodox Christians was the mysticism of their beliefs. It began with their views of God and creation. They viewed the One which they called the true God as having a feminine part which was the Spirit. In accord, they also held that Jesus […]

Continue reading "Gnostic Mythology"


Gnosis The higher meaning of Gnosis is knowledge from experience, especially the experience of divinity or that which is beyond the five senses. The word Gnosis does not refer to knowledge that we are told or believe in. Gnosis is conscious, experiential knowledge, not merely intellectual or conceptual knowledge, belief, or theory. This term is […]

Continue reading "Gnosis"


Gnosticism Gnosticism (after gnôsis, the Greek word for “knowledge” or “insight”) is the name given to a loosely organized religious and philosophical movement that flourished in the first and second centuries CE. The exact origin(s) of this school of thought cannot be traced, although it is possible to locate influences or sources as far back as […]

Continue reading "Gnosticism"

Gnostic Serpent 2023 ©