< All Topics
You are here:

Panchvivshati Tattva

Table of Contents


The word Tattva is used to denote the causative factors of the creation. Tattva means the cause for the universe.

Tattva Vargikarn (Classification)

Sankhya Darshan divided these Chaturvivshati (25 factors into 4 categories). They are:

1. Prakruti.

2. Vikruti.

3. Prakruti-Vikruti.

4. Na Prakruti na Vikruti.


This is one which will be a causative factor or karan for creation of some other or Karya, but it will not have any cause or karan for its creation. There is only 1 factor:

–  Prakruti


This type of factors will be the result of some causative factors but they will not be the causative factors for the creation of any other factors. The karya forms only & are not the karana for any other karya. 16 Vikruti factors are there. They are:

–  5 mahabhuta

–  5 gyanendriya

– 5 karmendriya

– Mana


These factors are the karya of some factors and they are the kara for some other karya. There are 7 such factors:

– Mahat

– Ahamkar

– 5 Tanmatras


This factor is one that is neither a karan for any karya nor the karya of any karan. There is only one factor that is neither a karan nor a karya.

– Purusha

The Avyakta or prakruti produced rashi purush (24 factors) and the purush (25th factor) which together known as Panchvivshati Tatva (the 25 factors).

Rajoguna and Tamoguna predominance and reduction of Satva guna (variation of Triguna) cause the vikruti and equilibrium of Triguna is prakruti. Aggrivation of Tamo and Rajo guna causes the nivrutti of Srishti or pralaya, and make vyakta to merge in avyakta.

Prakruti and Purush

In Sankhya Darshan there are 2 basic causative factors for the creation. They are as follows:

1. Prakruti

2. Purush

Neither Prakruti nor Purusha is able to do the creation independently. When Prakruti comes in contact with Pursha, Prakruti gets stimulated. They unite together. This union of Prakruti & Purusha is very much required for the creation. Prakruti loses its balance or stability leading to a variety of changes. This changes result in creation. The sequence of creation is as follows:


Avyakta or Prakruti, which possesses the triguna — satvas, rajas, tamas, which leads to creation of mahat which also possesses the triguna mentioned above.

Mahat leads to the creation of Ahamkar. Ahamkar also possesses triguna. Ahamkar is of 3 types:

Satvik or Vaikarik ahamkar.

Rajasik or Taijas ahamkar.

Tamasik or Bhutadi ahamkar.

Satvik ahamkar with the help of Rajasik ahamkar leads to formation of 11 indriya or organ. They are:

– 5 Gyanendriya

– 5 Karmendriya

– 1 Mana

Tamas ahamkar with the help of Rajasik ahamkar leads to the formation of 5 tanmatra. They are:

– Shabda

– Sparsha

– Rup

– Rasa

– Gandha

The 5 Tanmatra possess the 5 Vaisheshik guna. panchamahabhuta evolve from the 5 Tanmatra.

Like this all 25 Tatva are necessary for the creation.


[x]. Tattva, The Process of Universal Emanation, Vedic Knowledge Online.

Gnostic Serpent 2023 ©